Preparation

I have already brought forth issue;
Like Frost I walk the land given
Providence perhaps, thin as tissue
The skin of this city is riven
By but rumors of violence
By doomsday, the time since
God’s curses spoken, have I striven
To do but walk, and walk in silence?

I see the men of progress who think
Of it as an unstoppable force
In their wisdom they hope to sink
Their fate without remorse
Into the ground, soft or hard
A made grave early, stone scarred
God’s time will run its course
On every stained clay shard;

If their bunker should succeed
They will surely be no more
No more rich, though Godspeed
To these vaults of rich and poor
I have already brought forth issue
As I said, and though I eschew
Comfort of a cave for God’s shore
And this time as thin as tissue.

One thought on “Preparation

Leave a Comment:

